Welcome to BBCT Forum Home

Silver Bee

Rank

Total Posts: 1

Joined 2013-08-26

PM

Hell,

Forum Newbie here.

Can anyone tell me if there are any species in UK (whether resident or visiting) that is a silvery white colour.

Over the last couple of days, one has been visiting our garden (or at least one at a time) and it’s back is very much a silvery colour - not any yellow or black or brown or buff to be seen.

Sadly, I have been unable to capture on film as yet.

Has anyone else seen silvery bees, we live in Newmains, Lanarkshire Scotland (ML2 area). I guess you’d call our immediate area a new housing development on a brown field site that is sited immediately next to green belt land - greenbelt land used for cattle & horse grazing - plenty of countryside lanes and hedges etc as well as an abandoned railway bed.

Appreciate a positive identification is difficulty (OK impossible) based on colour alone - if anyone can point me in the right direction of silver bee images, I might be able to identify.

Many thanks in anticipation,

Craig

RankRankRank

Total Posts: 64

Joined 2013-01-10

PM

Hello Craig.
Welcome to the forum.